After the Second World War, a new era began for the MönchsbergAufzug lift and the buildings on the mountain. In 1948, the distinctive panoramic lift disappeared from the rock face. As part of the redevelopment, a modern lift with three cabins was built inside the mountain, significantly increasing passenger capacity. Things were changing at the top as well: The original “Restaurant Elektrischer Aufzug” evolved into the Grand Café Winkler, which quickly became one of Salzburg’s most popular excursion restaurants. With its unique views over the Old Town, it was a favorite meeting place for locals and visitors alike. Many combined a walk on the Mönchsberg with coffee and cake or an elegant evening high above the rooftops of the city. For decades, the café played an important role in social life on the Mönchsberg and made the location famous well beyond Salzburg.